Dracula “Pilot”


First impressions on NBC’s new show Dracula is that it is literally very dark and they are really going for gore. Maybe I haven’t read enough vampire books, but I’m pretty sure vampires try to keep their feeding a little less messy. As for the darkness, I spent a lot of time trying to see past the ceiling lights reflecting off the screen.

The most jarring thing in this series, which luckily I knew going in, is that Dracula (Jonathan Rhys Meyers) plays an American. You do learn in the first 3 minutes why, so maybe he’ll be back to his normal voice soon enough. With an American accent I feel that Meyers’ voice is a bit higher than usual. Just odd to listen to.

By the end of this episode you’ll find out about The Order of the Dragon and that Dracula isn’t such a fan. (Or Van Helsing for that matter.) Our main character now has a nemesis for the season! Always have to love those season long underlying enemy plots.*Insert sarcasm here* This group isn’t a fan of vampires and fabricated Jack the Ripper to cover up the last vampire in London apparently 8 years previously. And Dracula possibly a reincarnated wife. So far that’s a slightly less noted subplot.

I do like the time period costuming, though I’m not sure if so much cleavage was really that acceptable. Either way I guess it’s a draw to get men to watch the show.

Being the pilot episode and not hearing to many good things about the show before starting I think I’ll give it another chance, I do have 2 more episodes already waiting for me.

Dracula “Pilot” first aired October 25, 2013 on NBC.

Leave a Reply

